Unit 1 done at last

I think I have finally finished assignment 1!   I say ‘think’ because I keep going back and tweaking it but if I’m going to finish this course at all, I need to call a halt and move on.  I have stuck with the Balloon Fiesta images and I did find a means of uploading each of the shoots on my camera in such a way that I could rename the files in a logical way.  Easy really, having read the options when uploading I was able to upload them in separate batches so that I could make the filenames meaningful!

Having used Photoshop Elements since I rediscovered digital photography in 2010, the one thing that I have struggled with is organising my library of images.  As I upload images I set up a new folder on my hard drive, say Bristol Balloon Fiesta 2012.  But then I want to put some of those into my DPP folder, so do I copy them, in which case where do I save edited images?  I have been setting up an album in Elements, but then I’m never sure where to find the actual images.  A friend recommended Lightroom 4 and I took delivery of this at the beginning of September.  I love it, it seems to organise my catalogue in a far more logical way.  One catalogue which is a replication of the folders on my hard drive and a a separate folders system within Lightroom.  It seems that the RAW processing tools are much more comprehensive too, although Lightroom has been partly to blame for my lack of progress with this assignment because although I have ordered a workbook to go with the software it has not arrived yet and good as the online tutorials are, there are still huge gaps in my knowledge.  This has prevented me from using Lightroom for all of the processes required for these images so my workflow has not been as logical and organised as I had hoped it would be by now.

I’m not sure if I’m submitting this work in a format my tutor will be happy with, i.e., a PDF slide show and document.  The blurb says either a web gallery or prints.  I haven’t got profiles for my printer sorted out yet and I’m not sure what a web gallery is.  I don’t have a web site and don’t want to use Flickr as everybody can see them.  I realise that anybody can see this but they’d really need to look for it so hopefully might have some understanding of what I’m trying to achieve.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Assignments, Personal Reflections, Workflow. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

