Dynamic Range

The suggested time to spend on this course if you plan to do it in 12 months is about 10 hours a week.   I seem to have spent about that so far on the dynamic range project and I haven’t completed an exercise yet!  It doesn’t help that the weather is grim so the normal conditions for photos such as this are not available bit I thought I had found a reasonable compromise.  Gloss photo paper as a background, some bottles of shiny nail polish sitting on a black lens bag.  As this was taken indoors on a very dull day it was lit by a craft lamp with a daylight bulb.  I then took a series of photos until I had one which was well exposed and had no clipped highlights; f5.6 at 1/5 sec So far so good, I then  expose for the white areas, fine but when I try to expose for the dark areas, the exposure  goes off the scale so I have to start again.

Next problem ….Open the image in your processing software……..Using the software’s pixel value sampler….. what is that and where do I find it?  I have searched the help in both Elements 9 and Lightroom 4 and found nothing.  Then the bit about calculating the range between the 2 ends has me foxed as well as it sounds that this is tied into the exposure adjustments made on the dark areas!  Posted a question on the OCA forum, hopefully someone else will understand this better than I do!

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Digital image quality, Exercises. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

