Assignment 1 feedback

Just going through the really detailed and constructive feedback from my tutor Dave and it has certainly given me something to think about.  He starts of by saying that I’m off to a good start which is reassuring and I have already started to progress some of the suggestions he has made for improvement.

It is my plan to submit my work on this module for assessment at the end of it so it will be helpful to have future assignments judged against the assessment criteria.  I’m not sure how far I will go with the OCA photography courses.  At this stage I’m not sure what I want out of it except to improve.  At 62 and retired, I don’t need a degree but maybe I’m still trying to prove that I can do it, who knows.  It will probably depend on finance and how hard I am prepared to push myself to do what’s needed for each of the courses.

The first thing Dave commented on was the my workflow and suggested writing a flow chart. I haven’t done that yet, but  I will as it will provide me with a visual reminder of the steps.  He also talks about including metadata, renaming files and how much simpler Lightroom 4 can make everything and these are all areas that I am now working on. As a matter of course  I am setting up key words and attaching them to images.  I am also renaming images on imput although Dave is saying that after the initial edit is maybe a better time to do that as you have got rid of those which are obviously of no use.

When I first sent my assignment in I had only just installed Lightroom 4 and was not at that stage using it.  However I have now bought a book and followed a number of the online tutorials led by Julienne Kost on Adobe TV http://tv.adobe.com/product/lightroom/ [accessed 2 Dec 12] and I have to say that I think they are brilliant.  When I went of my landscape photography course in October I found that the preferred RAW editing software used by the tutor, Colin Prior, was also Lightroom 4 and he was able to give me advise on its use which I also found really helpful.  For example, the compare tool, which allows me to examine 2 similar images to decide which is best, to flag the ‘picked’ image or the rejected on. I still have a long way to go to make the best use of Lightroom 4 but as Dave recommends, I haven’t opened Elements since I started to use it in earnest.   The naming convention I have started using is much as Julienne Kost suggests in the Lightroom tutorials, so a summarized name of the shoot, they can be quite long however so I will be interested in Dave’s recommendations on this.

With regard to backing up, I am doing this through Lightroom onto a separate hard drive and I am now adding key words when I upload photographs.  This does need to be developed further I know so that it doesn’t just include the very obvious words and I am working on that.

The only part of Dave’s feedback that concerned me slightly was that he said that some of the images were soft and I had thought that they were sharp.  However I have looked at them again in Lightroom and can clearly see that some are indeed soft.  I can also see the reason for this, i.e. in many cases the focal length is longer than the shutter speed and of course although they are moving slowly whilst in the air, they are moving, so this is something to watch for the future.

Some useful reading recommendations and video which I will access, photo books are getting expensive though, I wonder is there is a second-hand outlet anywhere!

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Assignments, Feedback, Personal Reflections, Workflow. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

