Back on Track (I hope)

For whatever reason I seem to have hit a huge brick wall with this module.  Partly I think it is due to a break when we had Christmas and then within a couple of weeks a 3 week holiday, so I got out of the habit of working.  Partly because when I’m procrastinating I can find any reason under the sun not to work, I needed sunshine for some of the images in this assignment, I had other more urgent priorities, I’ll just hang the washing out before I start, etc., etc.

I think there is also an element of fear!  For a while now I have been shooting in RAW and now I have to shoot this assignment in  JPEG, so no post editing and by the nature of the work I have to do, there will be issues with exposure even when the shots are bracketed.

At the end of the day though I’ve given myself a good talking to and I’m finally getting on with it.  I still have an issue with lack of sunshine.  There was a little yesterday and I took some shots inside the church but they’ve not great, I really needed a bright sunny day rather than the odd bit of sun in between clouds.  Today was better but I had other commitments that I couldn’t avoid.  I did get some street scenes with long shadows before my meeting and some images with the sun shining through the window this morning so at least I’ve made a start. More rain forecast for tomorrow though so still some way to go but at least I will have some time to process, sorry (wrong word),  inspect and reflect on the images I have taken so far.

Also need to record my thoughts on some of the work of other photographers which I have viewed and made notes on. Even struggled to post that, mainly because some of it left me cold and I couldn’t find constructive words to discuss my feelings about it.

I haven’t been completely idle though, have won a competition at Camera Club with 4 prints of different genre and come third in with a panel of photographs on a theme.  Also just had an article published in Membership Matters of the RPS Journal and I’m in the process of putting a collection of pictures together for another couple of competitions and a panel for LRPS.   I just need to get my priorities sorted out and focus on the important things first, like getting this assignment done so that I can move on to the next section.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Digital image quality, Personal Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

