Websites recommended by tutor

In his feedback on my first assignment, my tutor recommended a number of blogs and websites as good reading/viewing for a number of purposes such as workflow, asset management and as a reference to the work of other photographers.

DJ Clark videos, http://www.dslrnewsshooter.com/2012/10/20/kitting-up-for-college-multimedia-journalism-tutor-d-j-clark-gives-his-gear-recommendations/ [accessed February 13] are really interesting, particularly if you are such as a photojournalist or a photographer shooting out in the field.  Clark goes through what he carries, i.e. the minimum essential kit, all of which fits into 1 backpack, including a laptop, and I suppose the message is that most of us carry too much, most of which is unnecessary and won’t be used.  My problem with these videos was that my internet service, albeit broadband, is so slow that the video was breaking up all the time so I abandoned the first couple of videos half way through.  If I can find a way to download them I may be able to go back to them.

The second one I looked at was Peter Krogh’s The DAM Book http://www.thedambook.com/ [accessed 12 March 13] and my initial reaction was that having spent a considerable amount on some of the essential and recommended reading for the course, I couldn’t justify spending another $50 for another book on workflow and asset management.  However as I scrolled round the website I spotted the ‘resources’ link and found a wealth of really useful stuff here, including a link to Jeffrey Friedl’s called Jeffrey’s Lightroom Goodies http://regex.info/blog/lightroom-goodies [accessed 22 March 13]  amongst other things, this contains guidance on how to publish photographs from Lightroom to iPad.  I really need to crack on and get my 2nd assignment in but this is definitely a site I will return to as I can see the benefits of this whereas if I’m honest, I struggled to see the relevance of the DJ Clark videos.

The other references that Dave gave me were to blogs, the intention I think to demonstrate how blogs can be used to discuss and reflect on the work of other photographers.  I have very mixed feeling about viewing other people’s blogs.  On one hand they can be really inspiring when someone seriously discussion something relevant and interesting and those responding to that discussion are equally serious and sensible.  It’s almost like you are looking at a photograph from someone else’s perspective and can see things that you didn’t see before.  Unfortunately though there is often some smart Alec who makes stupid remarks and I find myself getting really cross and losing interest.  I have tried to persevere and study these blogs recommended to me.

I think my problem is that I am still trying to perfect my technique and if you like, learn the rules and many of the photographs discussed in these blogs break them.  I understand that these websites have been recommended to me so that I learn to appreciate a winder range of photographic styles and broaden my horizon photographically but I feel that I need to get these basic rules; composition, lighting, exposure, focus, firmly under my belt before I can really appreciate when they can be bent or broken.

One example is Wayne Ford’s website; http://wayneford.posterous.com/ [accessed 20th March 2013] where Wayne discusses work from a number of photographic exhibitions.   It is all very matter of fact though and I’m not sure what I am supposed to make of it.  Some of it is not what I would particularly want to look at, such as the beach series; La Platja by Louis Artus but apart from that, the horizon is crooked, there are distractions in the background and the edges of the frames, the light is harsh and so on.  Other images are out of focus, there is no detail in the shadow, they appear to be over or under exposed, all things that have been levied and my photographs in the past but none of these things are mentioned by Wayne Ford.   The only photographer in this series whose work I will explore further is Santosh Verma, who for me, seems to be able to tell as story, include a very human element in his work and at the same time produce technically good photographs.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflections, Photographers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

