Reflection on Assignment 2 feedback and thinking forward to assignement 3

Ok so my tutor’s feedback on assignment 2 was no worse than expected (though probably not as good as I’d hoped)!

As suspected, I had misinterpreted the requirements of part 1 and the images which did receive feedback were not great, in fact some were awful, so really the whole thing needs to be revisited before it is submitted for assessment.

I think one of the pits I sometimes fall into is that I look for scenes that fulfil a requirement of the exercise, such as high contrast lighting, and take the shot, but without actually making sure that it makes a good photograph in the first place, and that obviously has to be the key requirement.

Another thing that has dawned on me is the number of shots I take in order to get the outcome I’m looking for.  As part of my submission for this assignment, my tutor asked me to include contact sheets with all of the shots I had taken for the assignment as well as those I had chosen to submit and I was quite surprised at the number.  So apart from aiming to achieve what the exercises and assignment for part 3 require, my two main learning points for this assignment are:

  • make sure that the images I take make good photographs
  • take fewer, better thought through photographs

The assignment for part three requires me to produce between 5 and 10 photographs on a single theme, all in black and white.  My tutor has suggested that I move out of my comfort zone and try to find something that I’d like to explore further and lends itself to back and white photography.  So the third challenge I have set myself is to try to

  • look at scenes in black and white as I take photographs for the exercises

By that I suppose I will be looking for shape,  form, texture, light and shade and one of the things that I will do as I work through the unit is to convert the images I take to black and white just to see what does work.

Finally:

  • I need to try to re-balance the time spent between the exercises and the assignment so that I can be sure that I give myself enough time to do the assignment justice

I can remember thinking at the start of part 2 that there didn’t seem to be much to it in terms if exercises and maybe the same could be said of part 3.  Maybe if I had alloted more time to the assignment rather than rushing to get it in because it was already overdue, I would have made a better job of it.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Assignments, Digital image quality, Feedback, Personal Reflections, Processing the image. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

