Black and White

Ok, so reading through the first part of this project, I have the following observations and questions.  Firstly the author talks about painters separating the elements of their work into modelling, composition, linear design and colour and that working with line shape and volume is different in principle from handling colour.  When I think about this in simple terms, most, or at least many, artist start with a pencil drawing of what they plan to paint so that they are actually creating the shape, form, composition and proportions before they apply paint to canvas or paper.

The second thing is that there is a checklist contrasting creative concerns between black and white and colour, in the text.  I have some issues in understanding this but it may be the key to my questions about blown highlights and blocked shadows in the last post:

  • B&W – contrast
  • Colour – colour effect of exposure

my main concern in the past exercise was that when I had greatly increased contrast, some of the highlights were blown and shadows blocked – is this saying that this is accepted or even expected?

  • B&W – key
  • Colour – colour style

haven’t really mastered this yet, my first image in the last exercise was vignetted to white in the corners, is this high key?  or is this still part of the same issue as above?

  • B&W – geometry
  • Colour – colour relationships

Fine with this, shapes, lines etc. are what is considered here

  • B&W – volume
  • Colour – colour intensity

ok, so what exactly is meant by volume?  dictionary says:

  • space
  • amount or quantity
  • fullness or expansive thickness
  • quality or power

More reading and research needed here before I can move on.

 

 

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflections, Processing the image, Reading or observation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

