Black and White 2

Thinking ahead to Unit 3 assignment, I have taken a number of images over the last few weeks with black and white in mind, to see what worked and what did not and one of those has been used for this exercise.  Everything I’ve read tells me I should be looking for scenes that offer a good range of tones, contrast, texture, shapes lines and form and I chose this old doorway in a disused mine for all of those reasons.  puzzlewood1There is plenty of texture in the moss covered stones and the old wooden door.  Steps leading up to the doorway and the door is recessed into the shadows.  Whether there is enough light or contrast I’m not sure though and I will need to experiment with other images to be able to make a comparison.  As mentioned in the last post, one of the websites I found when I was looking for tips on black and white photography, stated that you need pure black and pure white in a monochrome image in order to balance the tonal range.  This image has pure black but I’m not sure that is has pure white.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Personal Reflections, Processing the image, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

