Assignment 3 preparation

For once I feel on target and well organised.  I had given myself until the end of April to complete the exercises in part 4 so that I had 3 plus weeks to get the assignment done and at 1st May, I’m well on my way.

My tutor advised me that, having chosen a theme, I would need to make several visits to the location to get the images I wanted and that is certainly going to be the case.  Having almost decided on trees and woodland early on, I have consciously seeking out interesting trees, rotten stumps, honey fungus etc. and have at least three locations I need to visit again before I have all my pictures.  Once very local copse has been visited 3 times already in different lighting conditions and I am fairly pleased with what I have so far.

Having said in an earlier post that I have downloaded free trial copies of Topaz Black and White Effects and Silver Efex Pro, I have also found several video tutorials on converting to black and white in Lightroom and they have been really good, particularly Julieanne Kost on Adobe tv http://tv.adobe.com/watch/getting-started-with-adobe-photoshop-lightroom-3/converting-images-to-black-and-white/ [accessed 30 April 2013].  Lightroom seems to offer just as sophisticated a means of processing black and white images as the dedicated software and the advantage is that I am learning to use my existing software rather than just applying presets.  I’m also finding that I have more control over the finer detail than I had, certainly in the Topaz software.

As well as visiting locations and experimenting with the software, I have researched black and white photographers and what a huge pool it is!  I have tried to focus on people who take photos of trees, or at least landscape.  In terms of trees, I haven’t been particularly inspired.  To my mind, a lot if them seem to lack contrast or are just fairly dull and boring. Note to self – take interesting photographs!

 

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflections, Processing the image. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

