Correction

This is a fairly straightforward start to this unit and I have no problem with the ethics of removing blemishes from an image.  I chose a close up of a balloon at the Bristol Balloon Fiesta which had sensor marks on the original.

Balloon close up with sensor marks and dirt removed

Balloon close up with sensor marks and dirt removed

As can be seen this image included diagonal lines, which were not straight so I used the crop tool to straighten the image and position the lines to give a more pleasing composition.  Again I had no problem with that because it was all part of the image I saw when I took the photograph.  What  I did not notice at the time was that there were dirty marks on the balloon which showed up in the picture.  They have since been removed too and the image lightened so whilst I still see this as correction, I am already starting to get near that line that separates correction from interpretation.

More difficult was the exercise to remove polygon flare, maybe I could have chosen a different image where it would have been easier but I would like to get this image to a state where I am satisfied with it.

Sunset scene with lens flare correction

Sunset scene with lens flare correction

Lens flare was evident in several places where the water was lapping on the shore and as well as a large green flare on the rock in the foreground.  As predicted the spot removal tool had no effect so I used the clone tool in Photoshop Elements followed by the brush tool in Lightroom to darken the areas I had been working on.  Whilst I am happier than I was with this image, I don’t feel it was entirely successful and will keep trying this with other photographs. I still don’t feel that there is a problem with this treatment because as I have already said, the image I saw when I was taking the pictures, or at least wanted to see, did not include lens flare.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Reading or observation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

