Reflection on assignment 3 feedback

I haven’t done much on here since receiving feedback on my last assignment, to be honest I felt a bit deflated having thought that I was making progress but clearly not as much as I had hoped.  My tutor’s starting point was that I had chosen an interesting subject but was not yet comfortable with the medium of black and white.  I can’t disagree with that, I have reflected that this was something new to me and that rather than having a plan it was all very much trial and error.  His advice for future is that I should sit down and plan what I want to do, why I want to make the pictures and how they can be made into a cohesive whole, then read up on the technical process.  One of the criticisms of the last assignment was that it was not a ‘cohesive whole’ which again I would agree with.  Reading the brief, I thought I had to show a range of creative techniques but my tutor felt that I would have been better going with 5 or 6 images from one style.

So where now?  I have already been through and amended most of the images in line with my tutor’s comments for example a by product of using Silver Efex Pro to create the ‘antique effect’ tree was that it is seriously over sharpened where in fact this style of image, when it was produced in Victorian times, would have been very soft.  I have gone back to the source image and converted it to black and white again, used Lightroom to produce the colour and Photoshop Elements to soften the imaged using Gaussian Blur.  Is it any better though?  When I look at the Fox Talbot image that was suggested as a guide, it is very soft.  Is this what I’m trying to replicate? I’m not sure but whatever I finally submit for assessment I want to correct those I submitted for the assignment as far as I can, if only so that I understand what I’m trying to do.

One of the suggestions made by my tutor was that I could do a series based on the inside of the old yew tree but does that show enough variety?  He should know and presumably it’s better to perfect one technique  rather than dabbling with several.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Assignments, Feedback, Personal Reflections, Processing the image. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

