Adding and subtracting

I’ve decided to have one last go at the last two exercises in  this unit before I finalize my assignment. I certainly wouldn’t be fooled by the results but I’m going to record them here anyway.

To start with, changing the sky.  I did what I though was asked and took 2 photographs, camera on tripod, everything exactly the same with the exception on the exposure.

Correctly exposed foreground

Correctly exposed foreground

Correctly exposed sky

Correctly exposed sky

Having  previously recorded what I through was the correct exposure for the foreground and for the sky, I set the exposure to manual mode and adjusted the settings accordingly.  On reflection, although there is plenty of detail in the sky, it is actually under exposed so the final result is dreadful but I’ve been so bogged down with trying to get the technical bit of manipulating the image right that I have just accepted that for now.

change skyAnother thing is that the image itself is boring with insufficient interest in the foreground, just a field, and finally, the horizon is not as straight and simple as it might have been which made making the selection tricky, so all in all, not a great effort.   However, I have persevered and now have an image with the sky from one and the foreground from another.  As I’ve said, not a great outcome but I think I am finally starting to get to grips with the technique.  What I have not done yet, because it is just a step too far for me, is to try to add a sky from a different image.

The last exercise involved removing a key part of an image using one of the tools available in Photoshop.  I assume when they say Photoshop, the include Elements in this as the former is beyond my means, not to mention my needs.

before 1

Before, third person is walking out of the image

So far I have attempted to remove a person using the clone stamp.  I chose this image because I felt that the person in the foreground looked as though she was walking out of the picture leaving it unbalanced.  I used the close stamp to replace her with some of the surrounding grassland.  One issue I had, was that depending on the area you sample from, you get bits of things you don’t want.   For example, the red trousers of the person next to her.

After - image has more balance

After – image has more balance

Another issue for me was, how do you stop the very obvious repetition of other bits of exactly the same shape, for example the rocks to the left?  I know that I haven’t done this very successfully.  The texture on the right of the picture is not right, nor is the shading but I don’t seem to be able to find where to fix this.  I know that in the version of Elements that I have, there is an option to remove objects and recompose the image but again I’m getting frustrated at what seems to me to be to be very ambiguous instructions for using this tool.

Third person removed by cutting and pasting

Third person removed by cutting and pasting

One thing that I have managed to do  which I think has been more successful than cloning the person out, is to cut and paste an area of foreground over the top of her.  I then used the healing tool to smooth out the joins, still not great but better than the first attempt.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Reality and intervention. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

