Assignment 4 submitted

As discussed in a previous post, assignment 4, ‘Real or Fake’ requires us to produce a photographic illustration for an imaginary book cover and finally it has been submitted.  I’m not sure how it will be received because I’m not sure I have followed the brief properly but was so disappointed with my efforts at digitally manipulating images that I felt that I had to stick with something which I could make a  reasonable job of and felt happy with ethically.  Having decided to go with an imaginary travel guide to Shetland, I also felt that I needed to convey the natural beauty of the place and therefore it had to be natural and not fake.

I reflected earlier that I had spent a while in Waterstones Bookshop as preparation for this assignment but in the end went back to a pile of travel brochures for the final layout.  It has taken my 5 attempts to get a layout and colours I am happy with.

The Shetland Visitor Book Cover

The Shetland Visitor Book Cover

There is not a great deal of change from version 4, I have changed the colour and reduced the size of the border in the panel at the bottom, increased the size of the border in the main photo in line with that, changed the background colour slightly and added some text to the bottom.  Now it has been submitted, including a print of the final image sent to my tutor and of course I am thinking… maybe if I had done this or that differently.  Inevitably there will be feedback so any adjustments required can be made before my work goes for assessment.

I must say that the road to this point has been rocky, this has not been my favourite unit, partly because I seem to have some sort of technical dyslexia and partly because no-one has been able to persuade me of the value of messing about with my pictures any more than I would do normally in Lightroom.   I’ve also found it harder to read around the subject for this unit apart from a couple of articles and the ‘teach yourself, Scott Kelby’ kind of thing which for some reason I struggle to follow.  However it is done now and I’m off on holiday for a couple of weeks before I start part five.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Assignments, Personal Reflections, Reality and intervention. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

