Final attempt at adding and subtracting

I decided to have one last go at removing something or someone from an image and also at replacing the sky. With the image I had worked on previously with my 3 sisters and using my step by step Elements guide, I attempted to use the ‘recompose’ tool, whereby you paint in areas that you want to keep in green and those you want to remove in red.  For some reason it is not working quite as the book says, for me.  According to the guide, I should be able to paint in the relevant areas and then click on the ‘recompose’ option and the job is done.  What I’m finding though is that I have to drag the image in from the side and most of my red bit, but not all is removed, I then have to spend quite a lot of time with the clone tool removing the rest of the unwanted area and repairing the image.  As with my previous attempts, I don’t think anybody will be fooled.

Sky replaced

Sky replaced

This image  was taken on a very dull day when the sky was grey, so a good candidate to have the sky replaced and my next step was to attempt this.  Again, working through the guidance step by step, I used the ‘quick selection tool’ to select the area to be replaced, refined the edge, created a layer mask and copied and pasted my image onto another with a better sky, used a ‘de-fringe’ facility to remove the dark halo.  I even managed to include fairly faint telegraph poles in my selection.

Sky replaced and person removed

Sky replaced and person removed

Of course what I found was that image with the new sky was a completely different size and shape from my now recomposed imaged.  With hindsight I could probably have resized the image and moved it into a better position and cropped it but decided to start again, replace the sky first and then remove the unwanted sister.

Ok, this was a first attempt and I need a lot more practice if this sort of manipulation is going to look anything like realistic.

Aside from the technical aspect of making the picture look realistic in terms of getting the edges right, to me the light doesn’t look right and I’m not sure how to adjust that because it comes from different images taken in different conditions.  The guidance in the OCA materials say that you need to think about where the light is coming from but that in itself doesn’t help me with this.  One image was taken on a very grey day with white balance set to cloudy whilst the other was taken on a sunny day with white balance set for that.  I suppose what I need to do is make this sort of adjustment to the RAW file before I start any of the other manipulation.  I’m still not convinced this is for me though.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Personal Reflections, Reality and intervention. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

