More web galleries

The next group of photographers whose web galleries I viewed were previously unknown to me.  As I was considering flowers as my theme for assignment 5, I decided that flower photographers would be a good starting point and found the following.

Anna Booth, I found a link to her website when I was looking at David’s Ward’s web gallery and in fact at first glance it is very similar in layout so I would imagine managed by the same company. http://annaphotobooth.com/ [accessed 5 August 2013]

This was one of a number of websites that seem to sit in the middle of a white screen and you feel you want to enlarge it but cannot.

That may be something to do with the fact that I have a very large monitor but I felt that there was a lot of wasted space.   There are some navigation instructions in very small text in the bottom left of the screen, moving between photographs seemed to involve scrolling but this is not very clear.  I liked the simplicity of the website to a point but the pastel coloured tabs to the different areas seemed to be a bit ‘pre-school’.

Andy Small describes himself as a Fine Art Flower Photographer. http://www.andysmall.co.uk/index.html [accessed 5 August 2013]

andysmall The home page is very tall and narrow which was too much for me to take in all at once.

andysmall2

Andy Small

It took two separate screen shots, as shown here, to capture all of his home page and I would really have liked it all to fit onto my monitor at once.  Many links to other pages down the left of the page but not in any logical order, then suddenly he goes into colours, orange, blue, etc., and when you click on these you realise that you are in his photo galleries.   His images are lovely images and there is lots of information, probably too much, but the web gallery needs to be much simpler for me and with clearer navigation.  If this exercise is doing anything, it is certainly telling me what not to do with my own web gallery!

The next person I looked at was Jacky Parker who was the winner of the International Garden Photographer of the year Macro Art Project 2012. http://jackyparker.com/ [accessed 5 August 2013]

Jacky Parker

Jacky Parker

My initial reaction was that this was clean and simple.  A slide show changes the main images with 4 good-sized smaller images underneath.  The tabs across the top made navigation easy.  I did find the copyright information right across the centre of the images a little distracting and for me, the one thing that was missing was something about Jacky.  I liked the layout of this gallery though and noticed that it is powered by ‘Clikpic’ one of the companies I intend to explore for my own web gallery.

Finally I found Heather Edwards website. http://www.htedwards.co.uk/ [accessed 5 August 2013] Heather trained in horticulture so really knows her plants and gardens and this shows in her images.

Heather Edwards

Heather Edwards

Again, this had a clear, user-friendly feel to it with a large picture of a garden in the centre of the home page and good-sized tabs across the top to aid navigation.  When you click on the portfolio tab, you get a feeling that there is more to come.  The thumbnails are quite small and there is room for at least another row and a half, so maybe work in progress.  However when you progress to the next page, images are better sized and navigation is clear and easy.  Copyright information is across the bottom of the images which I much preferred.. This site is powered by Photium, another of the companies I plan to explore further.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Personal Reflections, Photographers, The final image. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

