Web gallery on hold

It is a month since I last posted anything in here but that does not mean that I have not been working.  What I seem to struggle with is reading, thinking, viewing resources on-line AND at the same time writing about it here.  Maybe the sort of note-book that I can just scribble in would have been a better choice for a learning log because this type of blog needs the discipline of sitting down at the computer, putting my thoughts in order, referring to the notes I have made, etc., etc.

The juggling act between the web gallery project and at the same time working on assignment 5 has become too much so I have put the setting up of a web gallery on hold until I finish assignment 5.  Having downloaded 2 different trial versions of potential web galleries, I realise that there is very much more to this than I had imagined.  The fact that they offer ready-made templates to choose from is only the starting point, I can’t it seems, have the template I want in the colour I want so I need to work out exactly what I want my gallery to look like before I start.  I also need to learn about preparing my images for upload, thinking about landscape, portrait or whatever format I decide on and a whole host of other things.  One thing is clear, there will need to be a lot of trial and error before I get something I am happy with.  So, maybe by the time my work goes for assessment will my web gallery be set up but not before I have to submit this assignment to my tutor .

 

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Personal Reflections, The final image. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

